Archie Comics Press Releases

Moderator: Rik

Rik
MightyCrusaders.net
MightyCrusaders.net

KEN PENDERS LEAVES SONIC

Post by Rik » Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:06 pm

From Newsarama

Finding a comic creator who’s stayed put on a company-owned title for more than a year is becoming a rare thing in the industry, while finding a creator who’s been on a book for five years is even rarer, and ten years or more…heck, that barely happens anymore.

And soon, it will happen even less, as long time Sonic the Hedgehog writer/artist has announced on his website that he’ll be leaving the Archie series in early 2006. Penders’ first Sonic work was on issue #11 of the ongoing series, in 1994. Since then, he’s been one of the major voices on the property.
The creator explained his decision in a statement on his website, which reads in part:

I've been working in the comics industry for almost twenty years, going back to my first assignment for DC Comics. Back in 1986 I worked for their WHO'S WHO IN STAR TREK mini-series; and, I can state from first-hand experience and the testimony of others that as hard as it is to break in, it's even harder to make a career of it -- unless you're adaptable. You can go from assignment to assignment and then, one morning, wake up wondering why there's no work.

That's partly why I became a writer, in response to having to wait for other writers' scripts that I was assigned to illustrate. I figured if I got into the game at the initial stage of creation, I could generate my own assignments. In the case of SONIC, it also offered me a chance to jump onto a book that was looking for one thing (writers) instead of the other (artists). You do what you have to, y'know?